For More Information: https://southardhousemuseum.com/
Tour this elegant Victorian shipbuilder’s mansion and step into Richmond as it was in the late 1800s. Experience the bustling heyday of local shipyards, sailing, Kennebec ice, lumbering, building, agriculture and commerce, which sustain a vibrant community. Immerse yourself in the Victorian architecture and lifestyle juxtaposed on local culture. Weigh the impact of this special time and place on national and global scales.
The CHTJ Southard House was originally a simple home built ca. 1870. In 1888, shipping magnate TJ Southard bought the house, added the Victorian features, and gave it to his son, Charles.
Exhibit areas include the Carriage House, with the original granite statue of TJ, antique tools, dolls and toys, photography, salute to veterans, the Russian community, and local industry. The Victorian houses a research room, a gallery with rotating exhibits of local art, “The Shipyard” with a diorama of the Southard Shipyard and original oil painting of the ship Washington Libbey, a wall mural of town in the late 1800s, and an observation tower offering views of the town and Kennebec River Valley.
Our mission is to provide a valuable resource for the community and increase accessibility, understanding, and enjoyment of the area’s rich history and culture, while using the past to better understand the present and inform our future.
The Southard House is a small, independent nonprofit 501(c) museum, run by volunteers who share a love of Richmond and her history. We receive no government funding. Donations are greatly appreciated.
Where: The Southard House Museum is located at 75 Main Street, on the corner of Main and Hathorn Streets in Richmond, Maine. The museum consists of two buildings- a restored Victorian home and the Carriage House.
When: Our summer season begins on Memorial Day. Regular summer hours are the first Sunday of the month, 1:00 – 4:00 PM, June through October, and the first Saturday of November. The museum is also open for a variety of cultural and educational events, and town festivities throughout the year: We hold a free Open House on Memorial and Veteran’s Days, and Richmond Days the last Saturday of July. “Halloween Fun” at the museum dovetails with the Umberhine Library’s Halloween Parade. Our Victorian Christmas Celebration is held on the first Thursday in December to coincide with the town’s Tree Lighting Ceremony. A Martin Luther King Day Event is among our first programs in the new year. Please see “Upcoming Events” for dates, descriptions and more programs. We offer free tours for local organizations, schools, and home schoolers. Off-season tours are available year round. FMI, or to arrange a tour, please use the form on the Contact page or call (207) 737-8202.
Cost: General admission is $1.00 per person, subject to change.